The seven member committee was formed to probe allegations against the WFI chief Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh.

The Indian Olympic Association on Friday formed a seven-member committee. The committee will be headed by M C Mary Kom, and she will probe the allegations of sexual harassment. There is an allegation of sexual harassment against Wrestling Federation of India president Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh by top grapplers. Some of the country’s top wrestlers have made the allegation including Vinesh Phogat, Bajrang Punia, Sakshi Malik, and Ravi Dahiya. The panel includes archer Dola Banerjee and Indian Weightlifting Federation of India (IWLF) president Sahdev Yadav besides legendary boxer Mary Kom and wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt. The committee also has two advocates Talish Ray and Shlok Chandra besides former shuttler Alaknanda Ashok, who is its vice chairperson.

 IOA’s emergency Executive Council meeting has taken the decision, which was attended by the likes of Olympic champion shooter Abhinav Bindra; Olympic bronze medalist Yogeshwar, along with IOA president PT Usha and joint secretary Kalyan Chaubey.

IOA Athletes Commission Member Shiva Keshvan was a special invitee in the meeting.

IOA president Usha has assured that a thorough investigation will be carried out by the panel to ensure justice. A detailed discussion was held on the letter received from the athletes. All the members including special invitees presented their views and suggestions. The committee agreed that IOA must not get carried away by media trials. The EC unanimously decided that a committee will be formed in accordance with the prevention of sexual harassment of women act of 2013. It will hear both sides and submit a report to the IOA President. The IOA committee includes advocates, one male, and one female, two IOA office bearers, and two representatives of National Sports Federations (NSFs).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *